• The Basics

    WHEN:
    Tuesdays @ 8:15PM
    (see "When & Where" tab for current dates)

    WHERE:
    Mt Pleasant Community Centre, Vancouver, B.C.

    HOW MUCH: $7
    Pay at the main desk and bring your receipt to class.

    QUESTIONS?:
    Contact Darlene @ darmirara(at)gmail(dot)com

  • The Latest

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 32,782 hits

Last Party of 2016! #THANKYOU

15491636_10153916514250807_1281744993_o

I literally could NOT have kept DDPP going this year without my wonderful friend and co-Den Mama Tara a.k.a DJ WebStar. Thanks for being you, and I’m so glad I finally got to be there for one of your playlists!

Since it’s my last post of the year let me get a bit real with ya’ll. I’m truly grateful to the DDPP Vancouver group of self-identified women who come share the floor on Tuesday nights, who got together for outdoor dance parties this summer,  who post and chat on our social media sites, who sign up to DJ and deliberate over their playlist themes, who pay $5-7 a class to allow the community centre to keep this party alive & to provide me with a needed and appreciated boost to my income. You’ve done more for me than you might ever know – helping me have fun and increase my confidence while managing my sometimes overwhelming anxiety. You help me express myself  🙂

In the wonderful words of Madonna : “As women, we have to start appreciating our own worth, and each others worth. Seek out strong women to befriend, to align yourself with, to learn from, to be inspired by, to collaborate with, to support, to be enlightened by”… thank you for being this for me  ❤

Well, we’ve almost made it through this mess of a year! Congrats to all that survived, myself included. My theme for 2017 will be:

fuck it i'm dancing.gif

Save

Leave a Reply

